Home India Corner 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: BJP’s Landslide Win

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: BJP’s Landslide Win

BJP landslide win
BJP Candidates bag major wins across Indian constituencies

BJP candidates bagged major wins across constituencies on May 23. Congress’ landslide defeat may result in a lower house with no leader of opposition

As Prime Minister Narendra Modi delivers his victory speech on Friday morning, the party is expected to hold its first Parliamentary party meeting later in the day.

PM Narendra Modi is now India’s first non-Congress leader to return to power, after serving a full five year term.

BJP’s landslide win coincided with the INC’s landslide defeat. While the veteran political party secured 51 seats, the Congress-led UPA managed to bag only 83.

Much like 2014, the 17th Lok Sabha is likely to go without a leader of opposition (LOP). According to Parliamentary rules, the LOP must secure 55 seats (10%) in the lower house.

In Congress’ family bastion Amethi, BJP Union Minister Smriti Irani was picked over INC President Rahul Gandhi. The former won by over 50,000 votes.

Gandhi’s defeat in the constituency marked the end of a nearly four decade long relationship between Amethi and the Indian National Congress.

While Amethi slipped away, UPA Chief Sonia Gandhi held ground in Rae Bareli, defeating BJP candidate Dinesh Pratap Singh by over 1.5 lakh votes.

Replicating the 2014 results in the capital, BJP bagged all 7 Lok Sabha seats in Delhi. Former Indian cricketer and BJP candidate from East Delhi, Gautam Gambhir won by over 3 lakh votes.

BJP’s Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur secured the Bhopal Lok Sabha seat, defeating Congress’ Digvijaya Singh by over 3.5 lakh votes.

In Patna sahib, BJP Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad defeated sitting MP and Congress candidate, Shatrughan Sinha by over 2.5 lakh votes.

In his electoral debut, actor Sunny Deol bagged Punjab’s Gurdaspur constituency against Congress’ sitting MP Sunil Jakhar.

Home Minister and BJP candidate Rajnath Singh won by a margin of over 3 lakh votes in Lucknow.

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) leader, Asaduddin Owaisi sustained the Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat for the fourth time.

In Sikkim, Five-time CM Pawan Kumar Chamling had to step down after 24 years. Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) will now replace Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) in the hill state.

Also read: