Home India Corner 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: Clear Sweep for NDA, UPA Tries to...

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: Clear Sweep for NDA, UPA Tries to Hold Ground

Lok Sabha 2019: BJP leaps ahead in EC trends

EC trends show a clear majority for the BJP-led NDA, which has now crossed the majority mark. Congress holds ground in Kerala, Punjab, and Pondicherry

BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has crossed the majority mark. According to EC trends, the alliance holds 345* of the 543 seats. The BJP alone holds 296*.

Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA), on the other hand, has managed to sustain 80* seats. The INC alone holds 53* of those seats.

In Uttar Pradesh, state with highest number of Lok Sabha seats, BJP holds 58* of the 80 seats. The anti-BJP Mahagathbandhan (BSP-SP-RLD alliance) lags behind at 12. Congress holds 1.

The INC is leading with 15* of the 20 seats in Kerala and 8* of the 13 seats in Punjab. The party has also held ground in Pondicherry and Lakshadweep.

In Maharashtra, BJP is leading with a total of 23* of the 48 seats. Shiv Sena is sustaining position with 20* seats in the state, while INC lags behind with only one seat.

In North Mumbai constituency, popular actress and INC candidate Urmila Matondkar is trailing behind as BJP’s Gopal Shetty takes the lead by over a lakh votes.

Incumbent Prime Minister Narendra Modi is leading in Varanasi, while BJP President Amit Shah holds solid ground in Gandhinagar constituency.

In Bihar, BJP and JD(U) are tied at 16 seats each, the RJD holds 2, and the INC has none of the 40 Lok Sabha seats.

In Kerala, Congress senior leader, Dr. Shashi Tharoor is leading from Thiruvananthapuram, while INC President Rahul Gandhi sustains lead in Wayanad.  

In Uttar Pradesh’s Amethi constituency, Rahul Gandhi trails behind as BJP Union Minister Smriti Irani takes the lead by over 11,000 votes.  

According to the 2019 EC trends, the lower house of the Parliament will now have less than six left wing parties.

*Subject to change

Also read: