Home India Corner Delhi Election 2020: AAP set to retain power

Delhi Election 2020: AAP set to retain power

Arvind Kejriwal is set to make his return
Arvind Kejriwal is set to make his return

As the counting progresses, exit poles predict another term for AAP.

Arvind Kejriwal is set to make his return as the Chief Minister of Delhi, with Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) obtaining an unassailable lead over the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), as the counting of votes progressed on Tuesday, February 11.

Though gaining a clear lead, the AAP votes remained short of the 67 it had won in 2015. While Kejriwal enjoyed a comfortable and clear lead, AAP’s leader, Manish Sisodia, had a close battle with his nearest rival, BJP’s Ravinder Singh Negi in his constituency. Manish Sisodia is currently leading by over 3,000 votes. While the AAP and BJP remain caught in the battle, the Congress has once again failed to open an account.

Some of the major leaders leading in various constituencies are AAP’s Rakhi Birla, Ragav Chaddha, Satyender Jain and Kapil Mishra who changed camp from AAP to the BJP.

The campaign for the Delhi Election, 2020 has been bitter and polarised, the political discourse bogged down by threatening slogans, violence and abusive language.

While the ruling AAP has sought to retain power on the work done in the field of education, health and in providing cheap electricity and water, the party’s major opposition, BJP conducted a massive campaign, roping in most of its 70 union ministers, 270 MPs and leaders as well as Chief Ministers from various states, to deliver it’s campaign message on anti-CAA protests and nationalism.

Delhi election, 2020 was held on Saturday, February 8 with 62.59 % of the city’s voters coming to vote. The voter turnout in the previous assembly election in 2015 had stood at 67.5 %. Exit polls released after the conclusion of voting, predicted as many as 63 out of the 70 assembly seats for AAP, leaving seven for the Bhartiya Janata Party and zero for Congress. Exit polls have therefore predicted another term for the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party.