Home Sports A Guide to the FIFA World Cup 2018

A Guide to the FIFA World Cup 2018

It’s the FIFA World Cup 2018 week and the thrill has already kicked in as the opening ceremony begins tomorrow. The FIFA 2018 is bound to put Russia in the limelight as the country hosts World Cup for the first time. It has taken a lot of efforts from the Russia President Putin to win the bid as the FIFA country host. Putin hopes for the people to forget politics for a month and that they “will have an unforgettable experience”.

“To all football fans and the greatest football teams on the planet, welcome!” Putin said on Russian television.

“It is with immense joy and a great honor that we receive representatives of the great football family. We want this event to be a celebration, filled with passion and emotions. I hope you will have an unforgettable experience,” he added.

Russia has spent $12 bn preparing the tournament and the real figure is probably $7 bn higher, including VAT discounts and money spent from regional budgets. It is one of the hyper-project that will last for some time. According to Krelim, hosting FIFA will help in capitalizing on improved international conditions.

Opening Ceremony

The opening ceremony will start with star-laden show at 6:30 pm IST at Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow. The Luzhniki stadium has the capacity of 81,000. Tomorrow the opening game Russia v/s Saudi Arabia will commence from 8:30 pm IST.

The ceremony will witness grand performances by famous singers and performers like Robbie Williams, who is famous for his track, ‘Angels’, and said that tomorrow’s ceremony would be an “unforgettable show”. He will be joined by Russian Soprano Aida Garifullina in a musical extravaganza as a tribute to rich culture of the host country.  Two-time world cup winner Brazilian striker Ronaldo, known as ‘O Fenomeno’ will also be present there. Will Smith and Nicky Jam will also perform the FIFA World Cup 2018 official song “Live it up” with 500 dancers and gymnasts.

The FIFA World Cup 2018 will have 32 teams and 64 matches from 14 June to 15 July 2018. It will take place at 11 venues across the country, stretching across 4000 miles. In India, Sony Pictures Network holds the broadcasting rights and viewers can watch the games online at Sony Liv.