You are here
Home India Corner News Lok Sabha Election 2019: Parties Line Up Candidates

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Parties Line Up Candidates

Political Parties gear up for upcoming Lok Sabha Polls
Political Parties gear up for upcoming Lok Sabha Polls

Ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha Polls, BJP picks 28-year-old Tajasvi Surya for Bangaluru South constituency. Milind Deora becomes the new Congress Chief for Mumbai

On Monday, Congress replaced former Chief of Mumbai Congress, Sanjay Nirupam with former Union Minister Milind Deora. He will now be facing Shiv Sena’s Arvind Sawant in the South Mumbai constituency.

Milind Deora, accompanied by former chief Sanjay Nirupam, confirmed talks with actress Urmila Matondkar. Nirupam said, “We had a brief meeting with her. We have requested her to contest the Lok Sabha polls from North Mumbai.” He further added, “We are sure, she will accept. If she wins, she will be an asset for the Congress.”

In the past years, Matondkar has made humanitarian efforts for the betterment of underprivileged women and children. Popular Marathi-language actress, Shilpa Shinde has also joined the Congress.

Former BJP MP from Patna and veteran actor, Shatrughan Sinha will join the Congress this week. Akhilesh Prasad Singh, Bihar Congress Campaign Committee Chairman, has confirmed the news. Singh said, the actor “will join (the party) either on March 28 or 29 in New Delhi.”

On Sunday, Sinha tweeted, “Time has come for Congress Yukt Bharat”

Ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) gave the Aurangabad constituency to Maharashtra MLA Imtiaz Jaleel. Party President, Asaduddin Owaisi tweeted on Tuesday, “Imtiaz Jaleel will be AIMIM’s candidate for the Aurangabad Parliamentary Constituency.”

Aurangabad constituency is scheduled to go to polls in the third phase of elections, on April 23, 2019.

India’s ruling party, on the other hand, has put its trust in a 28-year-old High Court lawyer for South Bangalore constituency. Tajasvi Surya was given preference over Tejaswini Ananth Kumar. The latter is the wife of late Union Minister, Ananth Kumar.

Tajasvi Surya is the Secretary of the Karnataka BJP Youth Wing. Soon after the announcement, he tweeted, “OMG OMG!!! I can’t believe it. PM of world’s largest democracy & President of largest political party have reposed faith in a 28 yr old guy to represent them in a constituency as prestigious as B’lore South. This can happen only in my BJP.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons